The Triple Crown

The US Triple Crown is a series of three Grade One Horse races for three year old Colts and Fillies run in May and June each year. It starts with the Kentucky Derby run over 1¼ miles on the first Saturday in May at the Churchill Downs racecourse in Kentucky. The second leg of the Triple Crown is the Preakness Stakes, that is raced two weeks after the Kentucky Derby, over 1 and 3/16 miles at the Pimlico Racecourse in Maryland. The final leg is the Belmont Stakes over 1½ miles and run three weeks after the Preakness Stakes.

Big Brown managed to win both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes in 2008 and went into the Belmont Stakes as the odds-on favourite to win the Triple Crown. It was not to be though as he came in last to miss out on becoming the first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed in 1978.

Triple Crown Winners

There has only ever been eleven Triple Crown winners and none since 1978.