Kentucky Derby - Top Jockeys

We feature three of the top jockeys who are likely to have rides in the 2009 Kentucky Derby

Kent Desormeaux

A three time winner of the Kentucky Derby including the 2008 Kentucky Derby on the great Big Brown. He also won on Fusaichi Pegasus for Top Trainer, Neil Drysdale in 2000 and before that he won the race on Real Quiet for trainer, Bob Baffert. Desormeaux also holds the record for the highest number of wins in the season, when he rode an incredible 598 winners in 1989. In addition to his three Kentucky Derby wins, he has won the Preakness in 1998 and on Big Brown last year, plus he has ridden two Breeders Cup winners and a whole host of other Grade One races in a glittering career.

Mike Smith

One of the all time greats of US racing, Mike smith has ridden nearly 5000 winners in a career that has spanned since 1982. Surprisingly he has only won the Kentucky Derby once and that was riding the outsider, Giacomo to victory in 2005; see Kentucky Derby Past Winners. He also has a victory in the Preakness Stakes from 1993 and holds the distinction of being one of the very few American jockeys to have won a European Classic, when he won the Irish 2000 Guines in 1991 on Fourstar Allstars. Smith holds the record for the highest number of Breeders Cup wins with 12.

Edgar Prado

One of the most accomplished jockeys on the US Racing circuit, Prado has been on top of the game for many years and has ridden over 6,200 winners in an amazing career. He rode Barbaro to victory in the Kentucky Derby in 2006 but has also ridden two Belmont Stakes winners in 2002 and 2004 and has had two Breeder Cup wins plus a multitude of Graded successes that earned him the right to be inducted into the Racing Hall of Fame last year.